Letter from the Past President (October 2014)

Dear colleagues,

During the ENEA congress that took place in September, in Sofia, my term as the President of the association ended. I would like to warmly thank you for your support and trust over the last years. I do believe that we have achieved a great deal together.

We have established a Standing Office, engaging the professional help of EndoScience, and this allowed us to build up a professional members’ service and reorganize the ENEA members’ data bank. We have rebuilt the ENEA homepage and installed a new on-line membership platform through which each of us can easily manage the membership and payments. Finally, it enabled us to hold electronic elections for the new members of the Executive Committee earlier this year.

We have attracted the support of the companies Ipsen, Novartis, Pfizer, Sandoz and ViroPharma; having them as reliable Corporate Members of the ENEA, will enable us to stabilize the future finances of the association.

You have given a lot to ENEA during the years. I am therefore pleased to inform you that during the last two years we have awarded a total of 40 travel grants to young scientists to enable them participate and benefit from the association’s meetings. The support of our young colleagues is and will remain a priority in the future.

On the same tone, we together with the “Rolf Gaillard Foundation” established an ENEA Award, the Rolf Gaillard Prize, which is endowed with 15,000€. The application modalities will be made shortly available on the ENEA homepage, so stay attuned.

At this point, I pass the presidency to the capable hands of Annamaria Colao and wish her as well as the new Executive Committee, members of which you have elected, every possible success for the future.

Last but not least, I would like to thank the members of the Executive Committee that worked with me tirelessly during the last years. Without their unlimited support and dedication, all these achievements would not have been possible.

Best wishes,

Günter K. Stalla
ENEA President past